Main Palyul monasteries – our affiliation




Gyalwa Palyul Monastery was established in 890 A.D. by Kere Chogkyong Dhampa. He spread the the doctrine of Do-Gyu-Sem (Sutra of Gathered Intentions, Peaceful Illusory Net, and Mental Classes) which are the distinct teachings of the Nyingma School. In 1664, the Dharma King of Dege constructed the main temple with the statues inside. The first throneholder Rigzin Kunzang Sherab confered the name Palyul Namgyal Jangchub Choeling (Dharma Land of Victorious Perfect Enlightenment).

The people of the Churong tribe offered the monastery (i.e. Chadongri) to Gyalwa Palyul Monastery when Palyul Choktrul Rinpoche Jampel Gyepai Dorje (1894 – 1958/1959) and many other senior Rinpoches of the Gyalwa Palyul Monastery visited them.




Tarthang Monastery

The Palyul monastery has numerous branch monasteries from which Tarthang Monastery is quite famous for its standard in learning and practice. It has been blessed by the presence of emanations of miraculous manifestations of the three supreme deities Manjushri, Avalokiteshvara and Vajrapani. The current throneholder is H.H. Karwang Nyima, the third Lhatrul Rinpoche and a manifestation of Vajrapani.